A Brief History

Merrionette Park's first Police Department consisted of the Village President, Daniel Januska, and the Village Board. In June 1947, A. H. Schreiber was appointed Police Chief. Chief Schreiber recruited village resident's to join the Police Department. Village residents used their own cars to patrol the streets with a cardboard sign in the windshield marked "POLICE" as identification.
As Merrionette Park began to grow, so did the need for new rules and regulations (Ordinanances) when it came to the health, welfare, and safety of the residents. These changes also brought the need for new staffing, equipment, and training. Joe Rademacher became the first full-time Police Chief and served over seven years in the 1970's.

Robert F Stevens served the citizens of Merionette Park with distinction for 48 years as he rose through the ranks. Stevens served as Chief of Police from 1981-2017.
Our current Chief, Charles Fisher, served in the United States Army and served one tour of duty in Vietnam in the years 1968 to 1969. Shortly after returning, he began his career in law enforcement. In March of 1985 Chief Fisher became a member of the Merrionette Park Police Department. Chief Fisher rose through the ranks obtaining Sergeant in 1998, and Lieutenant in 2005. On May 1, 2017 Chief Fisher assumed responsibilities as Chief of Police for the Merrionette Park Police. 
Currently, the Merrionette Park Police Department has one Lieutenant, 7 Sergeants, 18 Police officers, 10 Radio Telecommunicators, and two booking officers, in addition to an Administrative Assistant to the Chief of Police.
The Village has 24-hour Police protection, maintained by 7 SUV's. 
Utilizing modern, state-of-the-art electronics, computers, and sophisticated equipment and training, the Merrionette Park Police Department continues to make our community one of the safest in the Cook County area.


Top row (Lt-Rt):  R.Carlson, B.Coffey, Unknown, J. Galeher, K. Stepek, C. Kohler

Bottom row (Lt-Rt):  J. Prendergast, R. Fix, J. Brennan, Dorodiak, C. Brockway  



        Police Chiefs:

             Daniel Januska  (April 22, 1947)
           A. H. Schreiber
           Charles Wierman
           Florian P. Rolowicz
           Bob Fix
           Wilbur "Bud" Coffey
           Clyde "Skip" Brockway
           Joe Rademacher
           Tom Peterson
            Sam Kinney  
           Robert F Stevens      
           (April 1, 1969- to April 30, 2017)
           Charles Fisher  (current)